‹‹‹ prev (1472)

(1474) next ›››

[slater's directory.]
Duke of Sutherland E.G. Dunrobin castle, Golspie, Sunderland
Vice-Lieutenant, E. C. Sutherland, late of Skibo castle, Sutherland
Green Major-General Sir William Henry Khodes K.C.S.I., O.B.
93 Belgrave road, London S W
Maciver E. Scourie
M'Lean Donald, Ehives, Golspie
McTaggart Capt. William Bell, Cheriton lodge, Catford, Kent
Peacock Joseph
Sutherland Evan 0. late of Skibo castle, Sutherland
Weston Major 0. S. Morvich
Clerk of Lieutenancy, Alfred N. Macaulay, solicitor, Golspie
Sutherland The Duke of, K.G. Dunrobin castle, Gol6pie,Sutherlnd
Barclay Thomas, Skelbo castle
Barrow J. J. Dornoch
Bannerman Alexander, Eogart
Box John, Tongue
Brereton Robert Maitland
Calder Rev. Walter, Strathy
Campbell John R. Sbinness
Campbell James, Helmsdale
Carnegie Andrew, Skibo
Chaplin Eric, Shepperd house, London
Clarke George G. Eriboll
Dudgeon John B. Crakaig
Gilmour William E. Glencassley
Gordon James, Lochinver
Grant Colonel W. L. Borgie
Gunn John, Aldie
Guthrie Charles J., K.C. she riff- principal
Hardie James F. Skibo
Hill James John, Helmsdale
Hill Robert Robertson, Navidale
Innes Donald, Bighouse
Jainieson Dr. Charles, Badcall
Kemball Gen. Sir A. Burrowes K.O.B. 62 Lowndes sq.London S W
Kemp D. W. Rosehall
Lindsay Andrew, Golspie
Macdonald Alexander, Scourie
Macdonald Duncan, bank agent, Laing
Mackay Rev. Nor. N. Lochinver
Mackay Evander, Bettyhill
Mackay Robert, Brora
Mackenzie Rev. Donald, Betty hill
Mackenzie Rev. Kenneth, Badcall, Scouie
Mackenzie Thomas, sheriff-substitute
Mackenzie Thomas, Lochinver
Mackintosh Alexander, Melvich
Mackintosh George, Dornoch, senior bailie
Mackintosh John, Proncy
Maclean Charles, Golspie
M'Lean Donald, Rhives
Mactaggart Captain William Bell
Mathcson James, Golspie
Menzies Duncan, Blairich
Mitchell James, Ribigill
Miller William, Balnakiel
Mitchell William, Ribigill
Murray Alexander, Dalhalvaig
Murray William, late factor Inveran
Paterson James, Helmsdale
Peacock Joseph
Poison J. A. Bonar
Risk John, -.lynelish
Robertson Rev. Charles, Fearn
Ross William C. Inverbrora
Sangster R. B. Rovie
Scobie James Matheson, Keoldale
Scott James, Balnakiel
Scott Thomas, Rhifail
Sellar Patrick
Sha.w David, Bonar Bridge
Shaw James T. Gordonbush
Simpson Dr. J. B. Golspie
Simpson Alexander, Dunrobin
Simpson James, Lochinver
Sinclair David, Skelpick
Sturrock John F. Broughty Ferry
Sutherland W. provost of Dornoch
Tennant Robert, Rosehall
Urquhart Charles H. bank agent
Walker E. C. Sutherland (late of Skibo)
Weston Major C. S. Morvich
Wright Henry, Littleferry
The Chairmen of the District Committees
The Chairmen of tho Parish Councils
Clerk of the Peace, John McCrone, Dornoch
Sheriff, Charles J. Guthrie, 13 Royal circus, Edinburgh
Sheriff Substitute, Thomas Mackenzie, Tain
County Clerk, Treasurer & Collector, Archibald Argo, solicitor,
County Assessor, Hector M. Mackay, solicitor, Dornoch
County Medical Officer, George Dick M.B., CM. Wick
County Sanitary Inspector, James M. Rose, Brora
County Road Surveyor, John Baxter C.E. Brora
County Auditor, Robt. F. Cameron C.A. 1 Exchange pi. Inverness -
County Analyst, .lolin Hunter, 29 Chambers street, Edinburgh..
Chief Constable, Malcolm Macdonald, Dornoch
Factory Inspector, John Calder, 21 King street, Aberdeen.,.
Deputy Chief Constable, George Bridgeford, Dornoch
Assistant Road Surveyor, John Sutherland, Durness.
This force consists of 1 chief constable, 1 inspector & deputy chief constable, J sergeant & 1G coLutables.
Chief Constable, Malcolm Macdonald.
Inspector & Deputy Chief Constable, George Bridgeford, Dornoch I *Golspie, *Helmsdale, *Lairg, «*Lochinver, Melvich, Ehiconich,
Stations, Betty Hill, »Bonar Bridge, *Brora, Dornoch, Durness, j Rosehall, Stoer, Tongue
The county is not divided into divisions & the principal stations are marked thus *.
The troops in this county are in the Scottish District command ; head quarters, Edinburgh.
(No regular forces stationed in the county.)
7 & 8 Companies of the 1st Caithness (Caithness & Sutherland)
Royal Garrison Artillery (Volunteers) (head quarters, Thurso)
are stationed in this county; No. 7 at Helmsdale; 8 at Golspie
The Seaforth & Cameron Volunteer Infantry Brigade ; head
quarters, Inverness, includes the following Battalion :
1st Sutherland (the Sutherland Highland) Rifle Corps, attached
to the Seaforth Highlanders; head quarters, Golspie. Staff:
Commanding, Lieut.-Col. & Hon. Col. J. Mackintosh V.D. ;
Second in Command, Lieut.-Col. & Hon. Col. J. Morrison V.D. :
Major, E. H. Buik V.D. (hon. lieut.-col.) ; Instructor of
Musketry, Capt. D. C. Cormack; Adjutant, Capt. C. P. Doig;
Quartermaster, Hon. Capt. J. Morrison; Acting Chaplain, Rev.
D. Grant. 6 Companies are stationed in Sutherland (A, at
Golspie; B, Dornoch; C, Brora; D, Rogart; E, Bonar Bridge ;
F, Lairg) & 6 Companies in Caithness (G, at Thurso; H & L,.
Wick; I, Halkirk; K, Watten & M, Reay)
scot. 89

Images and transcriptions on this page, including medium image downloads, may be used under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence unless otherwise stated. Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence