Cathedral of the Isles, Millport, Collection


Cathedral of the Isles, Millport, Collection


A selection of 769 volumes, which were originally part of the now dispersed library of the Cathedral of the Isles, Millport, Isle of Cumbrae. The Scottish Episcopal Cathedral of The Isles is Britain's smallest working cathedral and dates from 1851. The Cathedral and the adjoining College of the Holy Spirit were founded by the Hon. George Frederick Boyle (later 6th Earl of Glasgow) whose vision was to establish on Cumbrae a Collegiate Church on a model advocated by the Oxford Movement. In 1876 the Church was consecrated Cathedral of the Isles. The collection is strong in continental liturgical works mainly from the 17th to the 19th century, as well as works relating to the controversies in the Episcopal Church in Scotland during the 19th century.


The books have been catalogued individually and have the shelfmark 'CIM.'.


The collection was deposited in the Library on long-term loan by the Cumbrae Trust in 1979.




Episcopal Church (Scotland)

Liturgical works