1707 - Order to lay up the Honours of Scotland

The Treaty of Union of 1707 united the Scottish and English parliaments and marked a profound constitutional change in mainland Britain. To ensure Scotland's continuing national identity, it was agreed that the 'Honours' of Scotland - the crown, sceptre, and sword of state - should never leave the country 'in all time coming'. This is a copy of the notarial instrument drawn up when the regalia were taken into safe custody in Edinburgh Castle.

The regalia's delivery into the safe-keeping of the castle followed the passage of the Treaty of Union through the Parliament of Scotland on 16 January, and through the English Parliament on 6 March. William Wilson, the official responsible for their deposit, was so impressed by the symbolic and historical importance of this act that he went to some trouble and expense to have this and other specially-decorated copies of the deed prepared. More than a hundred years later, in 1818, Scotland's 'Honours' were rediscovered in the castle by Sir Walter Scott, and they are now on public display.

Ch.A. 47

Order to lay up the Honours of Scotland


print Top of page Close window