‹‹‹ prev (433)

(435) next ›››

Campbell-Swinton J. L. Duns (Burgh)
Deas Adam, Fogo & Polwarth
Dickinson Robert, Channelkirk
Dove George, Mertoun
Edington James, Coldingham
Greig James Lewis, Eccles
Home Capt. D. M. Reston
Hope Col. Charles, Earlston
Hope Alexander Peterkin, Hut ton
Houstoun-Boswall Sir G. L. bart. Edrom
Hunter Major James, Leitholme
Laidlaw "William, Abbey St. Bathans & Bunkle
Laurie John Hope, Langton
Leadbetter Hugh MacPherson, Legerwood
Lyal Alexander, Gordon
Lyal Robert, Westruther
McDonald Daniel, Co'.dstream (Landward)
Middleton William, Ayton
Miller Sir James bart. Duns (Landward)
Moore Provost, Lauder (Burgh)
Nisbet James, Greenlaw
Porteou3 James, Coldstream (Burgh)
Benton Robert Charles Campbell, Foulden & Mordingtors
Robertson Alexander, Eyemouth (South)
Smith Alexander, Burnmouth
Swainson John, Duns Burgh (North)
Topping Andrew, Eyemouth (North)
Tweedmouth Lord, Ohirnside
Wight John S. Cockburnspath
Sheriff of Roxburgh, Berwick & Selkirk, Edward Theodore Sal-
vesen K.C. advocate
Sheriff Substitute at Duns, George Smythe Dunda-s esq. advocate
Sheriff Clerk, William Crawford
Procurator Fiscal, William Barrow Macqueen, Duns
Clerk to Lieutenancy, George Rankin, Lauder
Clerk to Peace, George Rankin, Lauder
Depute J. P. Clerks, Duns. Alexander N. M'Dougal; Ayton,
James T. S. Doughty; Coldstream, W. A. Deas
J. P. Procurator Fiscals, Duns & Ayton, Jos. Wilson, Duns;
Lauder, George L. Broomfield ; Coldstream, James Porteous
County Clerk, Joseph Wilson, solicitor, Duns
County Collector & Treasurer, James Herriot, Duns
District Clerks & Treasurers, East, James T. S. Doughty, soli-
citor, Ayton; Middle, John B. Kellie, accountant, Duns; West,
G. & W. S. Rankin, solicitors, Lauder
County Auditor, James Howden C.A. Edinburgh
County Assessor, William Crawford, Galashiels
Medical Officer for County, Robt. Shirra Gibb M.D. Boon, Lauder
Dislrict Medical Officers, East, James D. Jeffrey, Ayton ; Samuel 1
Macvie, Chirnside ; James N. M'Dougal, Coldingham ; WalUr
J. Shaw, Cockburnspath; James Forsyth, Eyemouth; Middle,.
Thomas Rogerson, Gordon & James Marr, Greenlaw; West,.
Dr. Skinner, Lauder & Dr. Young, Earlston
Sanitary Inspector for County & District, John McRae, Duns
Road Survevors, East District, James R. Wood, Reston; Middle
District, John Kirkpatrick, Duns ; West District, F. R. Atkin-
son, Earlston
Veterinary Inspectors under the Contagious Diseases (Animals)
Act, 1878-90, James Connochie M.R.C.V.S. Ayton; William.
Blair "V.S. Duns; William Hepburn M.R.C.Y.S. Coldstream &
William Lothian M.R.C.V.S. Duns
Inspectors under Diseases (Animals) Acts, under Explosives
Acts, of Weights & Measures, Alexander Porter, Jedburgh &;
Alexander Donald, Duns
Ch ; ef Constable. Alex. Porter, Duns. | Deputy Chief Constable, Snpt. Alex. Donald, Duns.
The force consists of one superintendent, one inspector, four sergeants and 21 constables.
Sergeant, Joseph H. Young, Duns
Stations : Chirnside, Duns, Greenlaw & Longformacus
Inspector, James Currie, Coldstream
Stations : Coldstream, Leitholm, Paxton & Swinton
Sergeant, William Mitchell, Eyemouth
Stations: Ayton, Coldingham, CockburnspathjEyemouth & Reston*
Sergeant, James Fairburn, Lauder
Stations; Earlston, Gordon, Lauder & Oxton
The troops in this County are included in the Scottish District Command
The 25th Regimental District (Territorial Regiment. The King's
Own Scottish Borderers), 1st & 2nd Battalions 25th Foot, 3rd
Battalion (Scottish Borderers Militia)
Depot, Berwick-on-Tweed
Officer Commanding Regimental District, Ool. J. W. Godiray C.B
1st Berwickshire Royal Garrison Artillery (Volunteers) (attached
to 1st Edinburgh R.G.A.) (Vols.); head quarters, Eyemouth.
Staff:— Commanding, Capt. G. J. Gibson; Medical Officer,
Surg.-Lieut. W. D. Forsyth M.B. ; Hon. Assistant Surgeon, J.
Forsyth; Acting Chaplains. Rev. D. K. Miller M.A. & Rev.
J. Wallace ; 1 company, stationed at Eyemouth
The following battalion is Included in the Scottish Border Volun-
teer Infantry Brigade.
Head quarters, Hawick.
2nd (Berwickshire) Volunteer Battalion King's Own Scottish
Borderers; head quarters, Duns. Staff:— Lieut. -Col. Com-
manding, 0. Hope (hon. col.) ; Adjutant, Capt. H. G. M. Amos
D.S.O. f Quartermaster, Hon. Capt. J. Fulton; 9 companies,
stationed as follows:— A & H at Duns; B, Coldstream; C,.
Avton; D, Greenlaw; E, Lauder; F, Earlston; G, Chirnsiit-
&'l, Ladykirk

Images and transcriptions on this page, including medium image downloads, may be used under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence unless otherwise stated. Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence