‹‹‹ prev (1384)

(1386) next ›››

Shetland mails are conveyed in summer (1st May to 30th September) from Aberdeen every Monday,
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday at 11 a.m., retaining from Lerwick to Aberdeen every Mon-
day, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday at 8 p.m. In Winter (1st October to 30th April) the Mails
are conveyed from Aberdeen ou Tuesday and Thursday at 11 a.m., and on Friday at 5 p.m. and 11 p.m.
alternately, returning from Lerwick on Monday, Thursday, and Saturday at 8 p.m.
Mails to and from the Orkney Islands are conveyed daily (excepting Sunday) from Thurso at CO p.m.,
and from Kirkwall at 10.30 a.m.
Island of Levris Mails are conveyed daily (except Sunday) from Stornoway at 1 a.m., and fron Strome
Ferry at 4 p.m.
^° The hours for closing the Letter Box are liable to alteration in the course of the current year, and,
therefore, cannot be given here. The Tables exhibited on the board at the Post OfEce or the Local Post
Office Guide ought to be consulted.
All Offices at which Money Order and Post Office Savings Banks business is transacted are marked
thus, m. Postal Telegraph Offices are marked thus, t. Railway Companies Stations that coUect and deliver
Telegrams on behalf of the Post Office are marked thus, r.
When in the subjoined list one place only is mentioned, it is a Head Office, or what is termed a Railway
Sub-Office — that is, a Sub-Office which receives its correspondence direct from a Travelling Post Office
instead of through a Post Town ; and when two are mentioned, i\i& first is a Sub-Office, and the second is
the Head Office, to which the first is subordinate. It sometimes happens that there is a Money Order Office
nearer the Sub-Office than is the Head Office; in these cases such Money Order Office is added as a third
name, for the information of any persons who may wish to remit money to the neighbourhood. Ail Head
Offices are Money Order Offices, but all Sub-Offices are not.
Abbey St. Bathans, Grantshouse.
t Aberarder, Inverness.
Aberargie, Abernetliy.
t m Aberchirder, Banff.
Aberdalgie, Perth.
t m Aberdeen.
t m Aberdour, E.S.O.
t m Aberfeldy.
rm Aberfoyle, E.S.O.
t m Aberlady, Longniddrle, E.S.O.
Aberlemno, Forfar.
i m Aberlour, E.S.O.
t m Abernethy (Perth), E.S.O.
Aberuthven, Auchterarder.
t wi Abington, E.S.O., Lanarkshire.
j!ot Aboyne, E.S.O.
Abriachan, Inverness, Drumna-
r Achanault, E.S.O., Eoss-shire.
t m Acharacle, Ardgour, E.S.O.
Achateny, Oban.
Achbreck, Ballindalloch, E.S.O.
tm Achiltibuie, Ullapool, E.S.O.
Achluachrach, Spean Bridge.
Aclmacarry, Fort William
Achosnich, Oban, Salen.
m Addiewell, West-Calder, E.S.O.
t Advie, E.S.O., Ballindalloch.
t m Airdrie.
Airth, Larbert, So. Alloa.
Airth Road Station, Larbert, do.
Alcaig, Conon Bridge, E.S.O.
Aldclune, Pitlochry, Blair Athole.
t m Alexandria.
t m Alford, R.S.O.
f m Alloa.
t m Allovvay, Ayr.
t m Almond Bank, Perth.
t m Alness, E.S.O., Eoss-shire.
Altass, Ardgay, Eosehall.
r Altnabreac, E.S.O., Halkirk,
Altnaharra, Lairg.
t m Alva, E.S.O.
r Alves, Forres.
<mAlyth, E.S.O.
r Amisfield, Dumfries.
t Amulree, Dunkeld.
t m Ancrum, E.S.O.
i m Annan.
m r Annbank, E.S.O.
r Annbank Station, E.S.O.
t m Anstruther.
i m Appin, Port Appin, E.S.O.
ws Applecross, Lochcarron, E.S.O.
Arbirlot, Arbroath.
t m Arbroath.
Arbuthnott, Fordoun.
Archiestown, Craigellachie, Carron
Ardallie, Mintlaw Station, Mintlaw.
Ardclach, Dunphail, E.S.O.
t m Aixlelve, Strome Ferry.
t Ardentinny, Greenock, Blairmore.
Ardeonaig. Killin, Lawers.
t m Ardersier, E.S.O.
iArdfern, S.O., Kilmartm.
t m Ardgay.
t m Ardgour, E.S.O., Argyllshire.
Ardlaw, Fraserburgh, Eosehearty.
r Ardler, Meigie.
wiArdnamurchan, Oban, Tobermory
m Ardpatrick, Tarbert, Ciachan.
m t Ardrishaig, S.O.
Ardross, Alness, E.S.O.
t m Ardrossan.
Ardtalnaig, Kenmore, Lawers.
t m Ardvasar, Broadford.
t m Ardwell, E.S.O., Wigtownshire.
t m Arisaig, Fort- William.
t m Armadale, Liiilithgowshu-e.
Armadale, Thurso.
Armadale Station, Armadale,
t Arncroach, Pittenweem, R.S.O.
Arnisdale, Lochaish, Glenelg.
Arnisort, Portree.
Arnprior, Kippen Station, E.S.O.
t r/i Aros, R.S.O.
t m Arrochar, Tarbet.
Artafallie, Inverness, Kessock.

Images and transcriptions on this page, including medium image downloads, may be used under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence unless otherwise stated. Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence