‹‹‹ prev (1035)

(1037) next ›››

Inspector's Deparlment. — A. Wallace, inspector of
poor and sanitary inspector ; W. G. Downie, cashier ;
David Barrowman, inspector's clerk ; William Sillar,
Eobt. Davie, and William Watson, assistant inspec-
tors ; Angus Robertson, inspector of children ; George
Donald, in-door assistant inspector ; TJios. M' Arthur,
Jolin Johnstone, Arthur Ferrier, Eobert Masterton,
John Smith, N. M'Leod, and Robert Nelson, clerks ;
Donald M'Donald, assistant sanitary inspector; Dun-
can Campbell, general officer ; D. Cameron, messenger.
Collector's Department. — 7 Carlton Place. — Wm.
M'Culloch, collector.
In-Door Department. — Merryflats, Govan. — John
M'Culloch, governor of poorhouse and superintendent
cf asylum ; W. A. Liddell, surgeon ; H. Taylor,
assistant surgeon ; Mrs. Matthewson, matron ; Wil-
liam Hume, clerk.
Michael Connal, chairman ; Rev. John Logan Aik-
man, Rev. Valentine Chisholm, Rev. Principal Doug-
las, D.D., Rev. James Dodds, Rev. Robert Jamieson,
D.D., William Kidston, Harry Alfred Long, William
Mitchell, R. T. Middleton, Joseph Monteith, Rev.
Alexander Munro, Rev. F. L. Robertson, Wm. Taylor,
Rev. P. Hately Waddell, LL.D.
Officials. — William Kennedy, clerk; John Mac-
whannell, treasurer; Robert Gray, principal officer;
John M'Math inspector of property.
Barony Parish Statute Labour Conversion
Assessment. Collector's Office, 108 West Regent
Street ; Thomas Gordon, collector.
Barony Parish Parochial Boards. Chamber,
38 Cochran Street; Peter Beattie, inspector.
Barony Poor Rate Office. — Charles S. Meek,
collector, 38 Cochran Sireet,
Bill-of-Entry Office in the Custom House,
94 Great Clyde Street.
Board of Trade Offices. — Mercantile Marine
Office, 12 James Watt Street ; Fred. Duncan, R.N.R.,
superintendent ; D. C. Ross, R. S. Macalister, W.
M'Artbur, deputy-supts. Examination Office, 12
James Watt Street; W. Congalton, examiner of
masters and mates ; W. Hannah and J. Fielden, ex-
aminers of engineers. Surveyors' Office, 7 York St. ;
W. P. Pryce, principal surveyor; W. Hannah, M.
Costelloe, F. Jago, G. Herriot, J. Fielden, J. H. Hill,
G. Symmons, J. Z. Cressy, S. Pidcock, surveyors;
Dr. F. S. La Trobe, medical and sanitary inspector.
Chamber of Commerce, 66 Virginia Street. —
J. C, Bolton, president; M. Anderson, secretary.
Chamberlain's Office, City Chambers, 49 Ing-
ram Street. — William West Watson, city chamberlain;
James Nicol, accountant ; Wm. Gibb, cashier.
City Assessment Office, 24 Ingram Street. —
William Campbell, surveyor.
City Poor Assessment Office, 70 Bell Street.
— David Hall, collector ; Wm. Davidson, Clerk.
Collector's Office. — Thomas Gordon, 108
West Regent Street.
Commissary Clerk's Office. — 81 Bath St.
Clyde Trustees' Chambers, 16 Robertson St.
— Geo. Eeitb, general manager ; J. Graham, treasurer.
Custom House, 94 Great Clyde Street. — D.;
Williams, collector; J. Graham and H. Cockshot,
chief clerks, and receivers of wreck ; J. R. R. Rayner,
surveyor ; A. Farnworth and R. E. Moxon, assistant
surveyors; J. Taggart, principal coast officer at Bovfl-
ingBay; D. Sinclair, house-keeper. Hours of attend-
ance — Long Room department, from 10 till 4; on
Saturdays, from 10 till 2.
Dean of Guild Court, 74 Hutcheson Street. — -
TovFn Clerk, assessor ; J. Carrick, master of works.
Court sits every second and fourth Thursday of the
month at 11 o'clock. The court is presided over by
James King, Dean of Guild, and the brethren of council
consist of eight members appointed by the Merchants' i
House and the Trades' House. Thomas Muir, officer.:
Excise Office, 13 Queen Street.
Extractor's Office, City Chambers.
Faculty of Physicians and Surgeon's Lib-
rary, 242 St. Vincent Street.
Faculty of Procurators' Sale Hall, St.
George's Place.
Faculty of Procurators' Library, St.
George's Place.
Glasgow Corporation Gas Works' Office,
42 Virginia Street.
Glasgow Corporation Water Company's
Office, 23 Miller Street.
Glasgow Court House Commissioners. —
Matthew Anderson, writer, clerk ; Jas. Nicol, trea.
Govan Poors' Office, 7 Carlton Place.— A.
Wallace, inspector of poor.
Govan Parish Poor Rates Office, 7 Carlton
Place. — Wm. M'Culloch, chief collector.
H. M. Board for Examinations, Mining
District, West of Scotland, for granting certi-
ficates of competency to Managers of Mines. — Alex.
Whitelaw, Esq., M.P., Chairman; C. Macpherson, 135
St. Vincent Street, Secretary.
Inland Revenue Office, 13 Queen Street.
Justice of Peace Clerk's Office for the
lower ward of Lanarkshire, County Buildings, 72
Hutcheson Street. — George Gray, clerk; J. Morton
Threshie, depute-clerk. ;
Justice of Peace Clerk's Office for Eastern
district of Dumbartonshire, 89 West Regent Street.
— J. Hutcheson, depute-clerk. Small Debt Court
held at Kirkintilloch first Saturday of each month.
Lanarkshire County Police and Prisons
Assessment Office, 30 John Street, City. — Col-
lector, A. Tennant.
Lanarkshire (North) Prison Board. — Alex.
Young, Writer, clerk ; James Nicol, treasurer and
Lands Valuation. — J. Airth, assessor for City
and Barony, without municipal boundary ; J. Gil-
bertson, assessor for Old Monkland, Cambuslang,
Kilbride, Rutherglen, Carmunnock, Cathcart, and
Lanark; J. Holm, assessor for County of Dumbar-
ton, except parishes of Kirkintilloch and Cumber-
nauld ; A. Nisbet, assessor for Govan, Cadder, New
Monkland, Kirkintilloch, and Cumbernauld.
Lands Valuation Office for the city and royal
burgh of Glasgow, 24 Ingram Street. — Wm, Camp-
bell, assessor.
Merchants House, && Virginia Street. — James
King, dean of guild ; W. H. Hill, collector and clerk. =
Office of Public Works, Municipal Buildings.
— J. Carrick, master of works; John Whyte, assist-
ant master of works.

Images and transcriptions on this page, including medium image downloads, may be used under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence unless otherwise stated. Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence