Swan Collection


Swan Collection


A group of 64 works in 60 volumes by Annie Shepherd Swan CBE (1859-1943), specially bound for the author. Swan was a Scottish journalist and novelist, who was a prolific writer of popular romantic fiction for young women from the 1880s right up to her death. She received her widest audience through serialisation of her novels in 'The People's Friend' but was also a regular contributor to other magazines and periodicals, becoming one of the most-read Scottish authors of the 20th century. She also wrote under the pseudonym, David Lyall, and her married name, Mrs Burnett Smith. Swan was also politically active as a member of the Liberal Party, and the suffragette movement, standing (unsuccessfully) as a candidate in the 1922 general election, the first in which women had the right to vote.


The books have been catalogued individually and have the shelfmark 'Swn.'.


The collection was presented in 1973 by the Rev and Mrs EM Rule of Oyne, Aberdeenshire.

Related collections

A collection of correspondence, manuscripts, typescripts and other papers were also presented in 1973 and 1975 by Rev and Mrs Rule. The manuscripts held at Acc.6003 and Acc.6469.




Scottish history and literature

Swan, Annie S.