Macdonald Publishers Collection


Macdonald Publishers Collection


A collection of 72 printed volumes dating from 1953 to 1987, mainly published by the Edinburgh-based firm, Macdonald Publishers. The works are mostly Scottish literature and poetry of this period and reflect the close association of the founder of the firm, Callum Macdonald MBE (1912-1999), with the leading Scottish writers of the second half of the 20th century. As printer, publisher, and managing editor of the literary journal 'Lines Review', Macdonald was instrumental in publishing a wide range of poetry and prose in English, Scots and Gaelic. In 2001 the annual Callum Macdonald Memorial Award was established by Callum Macdonald's widow, Tessa Ransford OBE, (died 2015). She was a poet and founder of the Scottish Poetry Library, and a supporter and campaigner for poetry in Scotland. The Award, administered by the Library, was given every year up to 2018 for the publisher of an outstanding example of pamphlet poetry published during the previous year.


The books have been catalogued individually and have the shelfmark 'MP.'.


The printed volumes were received as part of the donation of the publishing archive of Callum Macdonald in 1987.

Related collections

The manuscripts are held at Acc.9476.


'Callum Macdonald: Scottish Literary Publisher [exhibition catalogue],' Edinburgh, 1987.

Online resources

Callum Macdonald Memorial Award




Scottish history and literature

Scottish poetry